A couple of weeks ago, I had the chance to enjoy the beauty and rejuvenation that only the outdoors can provide. Those who know me well, know that I am NOT an outdoor girl. I enjoy spending my weekends curled up with a good movie, reading a good book…or writing one.

My escape along the Blue Ridge Parkway through Virginia and North Carolina was a spur of the moment decision. I’d been talking about it with my son’s grandparents who enjoy long country drives and seeing where the road takes them. A few weeks prior to our trip, they discussed a journey they made to the Linn Cove Viaduct in NC. I mentioned wanting to come along and they told me we’d make it happen next time around. Next time around came a few weeks later and I said what the heck. Usually, I need lots of time to plan for even the simplest trips, but I decided to step out of my comfort zone and go for it.

We drove up to their place just outside of Winston-Salem, NC early that Saturday morning. I was happy just to leave my car and let someone else handle the driving. We set out, my son in the passenger seat of his grandpa’s SUV, me in the back with granny. I was already in heaven. Those who know me well, know I jump at ANY chance not to drive.

The trip was amazing. The sky was sunny and filled with gorgeous white clouds, the air was crisp and wintry cold. We even stopped off to visit a terrific country store in VA. Delightful! And the colors! Vivid isn’t the word. I had no idea The Parkway went up so far. We actually went beyond the Viaduct. A few times, we had to ask my son why he was so quiet. I thought he might be on his phone, but he said he was taking it all in. It’s not always easy to amaze a teenager, but I dare say he was that and more. There are several places to pull off along The Parkway and get out to enjoy the scenery. The air is so refreshing which makes it a wonderful place to clear your head and be humbled by the Creator’s artistry. Now, enough with the words, I’ll let these pictures say the rest.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

