Boston Prayers

Hi Everyone,

Today’s blog is not about a new story or book or author news. I simply wanted to say once again how very saddened I am about the events that took place at the Boston Marathon on Monday. I heard about what happened while sitting in the dentist’s office waiting for my son. I was listening to a book and just halfway listening to what news was being shared through the waiting room speakers. Then in the car, we got the full story and once we arrived home the weight of it all hit me. Not until I watched CNN replay the actual incident did the shock and disgust weigh in. The cheers and happiness as racers crossed the finished line and then the instant panic and horror that arrived in the next second…unreal-unthinkable.

I couldn’t send out tweets about this until some time on Tuesday but I’ll just reiterate and rephrase one here now: “Life is too short to live not doing what you love. We are (sadly) being reminded of this way too often.”

My prayers continue for the Boston victims and their families around the world.

AlTonya.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Shantal says:

    Thanks for sharing your sentiments with us AlTonya. My thoughts and prayers are with the people from all over the world that were at the Marathon, the citizens of Boston and our nation. I knew a couple of runners and am so thankful that they were FAST during this race and had already crossed the finish line and were away from the immediate area where the bombs were detonated and are without injury other than their emotional well-being. I am praying that the criminals are caught and brought to justice.

    Life is indeed too short for each and every person to not live to their full potential and bask in the joy of doing whatever it is that brings them fulfillment. Imagining a better world.

  2. Shantal says:

    That should read…”I know a couple of runners…”

    1. altonyasblog says:

      Hi Shantal,

      Thanks for sharing this with us. I’m glad to hear that your friends are well. I don’t know anyone who ran in the race. I know a few people who live in Boston, but as yet I’ve heard no unfortunate news. Still, in a situation like this it’s as though we’re all from the same hometown. This tragedy hits us all. Take care and be blessed.
      AlTonya

Leave a Reply

