MOVIES, MOVIES, MOVIES!!!

 

 

MOVIE BLOG

Okay so over the holidays, I had the chance to catch up on some movie time. Going to the movies is like one of my favorite things next to being at home curled up and watching from the comfort of my sofa or bed- tee hee!

Anyway, I just love everything about the movies- the smell of popcorn and butter in the air, the mixed conversations from folks trying to decide what to order from the concession stand or those winding their way to their theatre or those leaving a showing and discussing what they thought about the film. A good film, followed by a good dinner and discussion about the film ranks up there in the ‘perfect evenings’ category for me.

So, as I was saying- this holiday season I had the chance to indulge- A LOT. My movie tastes are broad but I have to say that some of the films I saw during the holidays made up the most varied list I’ve ever put together.

Lincoln- I wanted to take my son to see this, but the length made me glad I waited. I truly enjoyed it. I found it a treat to watch the portrayals of historical figures known through vast accounts in school textbooks and autobiographies. I thought Spielberg did an amazing job of presenting them as the real people they were- complete with all the uncertainties and fears that we all face from time to time. Since I love long movies, I was quite pleased, but I don’t think my 12yr old would’ve appreciated it as much J

Jack Reacher- I wasn’t really planning to see this one when I saw the theatrical trailer, but am I glad I did. I had an afternoon to myself and didn’t want to spend it at home- working J so I took a short trip to my neighborhood theatre. It’s such a cool place, comfy chairs and you can sip cool wine or hot tea while you take in a show- love it! So anyway, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by Tom’s new film. I actually love his movies but I just wasn’t up for seeing this one until I started watching. A great story- hard to guess the ending. The beginning is a little rough to take but it’s worth watching-suspense & action abound.

The Hobbit- From suspenseful crime to fantasy epic. This movie certainly lived up to the book-of course the book was better. Still, Peter Jackson did an incredible job of bringing the world and characters in it to vivid life. I wasn’t very surprised given his work in the LOTR Trilogy but hey it was really incredible to take in. The ending was unexpected and I’m still not sure how I feel about that- those who read the book probably know what I mean 😉

Django Unchained-  Okay so…Damn, what can I say about this movie? Didn’t even know this was being made until I saw a quick trailer on TV one night. That’s all I needed to plan how I’d spend Christmas night. I was a little anxious because I didn’t know if they’d show it in the area of NC where I live. They didn’t show it at my little wine and tea theatre, but luckily there are plenty of others. Thankfully, it hadn’t sold out by the time we got there. That quickly changed and I had the chance to watch a very diverse audience trickle in for a movie that was every bit as good as the trailer promised. I know some have criticized it but that was to be expected. I’ve told people who have asked for my opinion to leave their political correctness at the door and if they offend easily perhaps they should stay home.

To me, this movie called on the shortcomings among black and white- so everyone could feel equally offended and that made so much of the movie hilarious. On the flip side, there were just as many comedic moments as there were scenes that invoked disgust, anger and justice. I’ve already said too much-just go see the dang thing. That’s Django- the ‘D’ is silent.

Til next time, folks!

Al

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Darlene Mitchell says:

    Hey Altonya! Glad you got some time to yourself over the Holidays to enjoy some highly talked about and criticized movies! I too went to see Django Unchained, and loved it! Haven’t seen the others yet, but eventually will. How is the new job and the family? I am looking forward to reading your new release, Provocative Territory. Currently, I am recuperating from Shoulder surgery, and going in and out of consciousness due to the pain meds, but just wanted to drop you a quick line to let you know that you are in my thoughts! I’m still hoping and praying for a possible Crane and Josephine Novella, 😜! I know it is a long shot, but maybe the thought can trigger a reaction! 😌! I’m just saying…sometimes dreams do come true! Anywho…take care and I look forward to talking to you soon!

  2. altonyasblog says:

    Hey Darlene!!! Get well soon- shoulder surgery definitely sounds painful and I will keep you in my prayers. All is well- the new job is keeping me busy beyond belief, but I’m surely learning a lot. A Crane and Josephine Novella? Have you mentioned this to me before??? It has some potential…we’ll see. Yes, these were some really good movies I really enjoyed catching up on movie time over the holidays. I hope you’ll enjoy the new Kimani and look forward to your thoughts on the new work I’ll put out this year!
    Take Care,
    Al 🙂

Leave a Reply

