A Ten Year Vision….

This week I attended a Town Hall meeting of sorts where the President of our college delivered her ten year vision for the school. As she spoke, she asked us in the audience to think about what we’ve done, what we do and what we will do in the future.

Those questions prompted me to think about this in relation to my life and the expectation I hold for my future. Since furthering my education, I’ve been asked where I’d like to be in the next five years. Granted these questions have been in relation to my plans for my Masters in Library Science, but the query is sound.

What I’ve Done: Since the publication of my 1st book in 2003, my life changed in extraordinary ways. About 30 titles later, the support I have from my readers continues to motivate me. Their support for my traditional projects in the contemporary and historical genres has opened the door for my present endeavors.

What I’m Doing: Independent publishing endeavors have been the next step in my career. My ‘exclusive’ projects have allowed me to stretch my wings as a writer. The freedom to create storylines and characters that push envelopes not previously touched, has been one of the most fulfilling aspects of being a self-publisher. Additionally fulfilling, has been the ability to take on a larger portion of the responsibilities in the marketing of my work. I attended a presentation for a writer friend earlier this week and he made a great point in saying that no one but he has the amount of passion required to take his work to the next level. I agree in terms of my own work. When marketing to readers and those in the business of servicing readers, passion for ones work is essential. In addition to passion, time is key.

What I Will Do In The Future: Marketing and creation take more than the idea and passion to conjure innovative methods of showcasing work. They take exorbitant amounts of time.

Creatively, I look forward to the release of new novels that I hope will test my imagination and dive deeper into the well of stories that I still have to tell. I think they will be quite different from what my readers know of my work- case in point, my upcoming novel Taboo Tree. I expect this and the stories to follow to be equally entertaining, in addition to thought-provoking and suspenseful.

There will be more T. Onyx titles including an erotic fantasy epic that I’ve been kicking around in my mind. For those of you who have inquired about my next YA ‘Eternal’- the rough draft has been waiting on completion but I just haven’t had the time to devote to it. I plan to complete it though the title may not release until 2014.

Along with the conclusion to the long-running Ramsey/Tesano Saga in 2013 😦 The Ruler of Perfection sequel will release next year as well. For you fans of the Nkosi and Okonkwo families, I have plans for 4-6 books there. Maybe more- those families are huge! A new contemporary romance series will also begin for me in 2013. Look for five titles there. The first two stories will release next year. More details to come on that later.

I have to say that my boldest intention within the next ten years will be for my ‘Exclusive’ work. I look forward to making the books available in more libraries nationally and internationally. I’ve already taken the first steps toward making this very large undertaking a reality but there’s much more to be done!

This is such an exciting time for writers and I feel so blessed to have a place amidst all the creativity abounding and all the advances that make sharing it possible. I thank God for health of body and mind and look forward to having my fabulous, smart and supportive readers on board. I really hope you guys will enjoy all there is to come.

Love and Blessings,

Al

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Shantal Y. says:

    …and to everything there is a season… AlTonya, thanks for sharing your vision and a little bit more about where you’ve been and are planning to go. One word…Amazing! I look forward to enjoying the ride to where your creativity and publishing takes me as a reader and dedicated fan. Contemporary, historical, suspense, etc…I welcome all of it! Stay encouraged and believe…I am confident you will be blessed and have a full and long career as a writer.

  2. Hi Shantal,

    Thanks so much. As I said, the readers i.e. supporters i.e.VIPs mean so much to me. You guys are wonderful fuel for my motivation and knowing that increases my hopes for a very creative future! Onward! 😉

  3. Darlene Mitchell says:

    Hey Altonya! You know I am so proud and excited to have had the opportunity to be on this amazing ride with you, as a reader and future aspiring author. Of course you know I will miss those gorgeous, dedicated, hunky, love their women to death…Ramsey/Tesano, but such is life. 😦 Everything has to come to an end at some point in time…However, I haven’t and won’t give up hope for a reunion series showing up somewhere down the road. :-D! Your writing is truly awsome, and I will support you no matter what you write. Thank you so very much for sharing your vision. You are truly an inspiration to me! I’m excited and can’t wait to read your new projects…however, the Ramsey’s will forever be my First Loves! Thank the Heavenly Father for Kindle and ebooks. I can forever have them near and within hands reach any hour, minute or second of the day! LOL!!!! Thank you once again! One of your true and crazy, always feigning for a fix of those delicious Ramsey/Tesano men fan….Darlene

    1. Hey Darlene!! Great to hear from you and thanks so much for being such an avid supporter. There is so much more to come, so many stories I need to get out of this crowded brain of mine. I’m so thrilled and blessed to have such fantastic motivation courtesy of such awesome readers!! 😉

    2. Hey Darlene!! There is so much more to come, so many stories I need to get out of this crowded brain of mine. Of course that’s not always easy when time is an issue, but in 10 years…who knows? The end of the Ramsey/Tesano saga is bittersweet but I think it’s the right move- these folks have got to reach their happily ever after sometime right?? Stay tuned! Al 🙂

      1. Darlene says:

        Altonya, I do agree, but can we have some very long Epilogues revealing each of their Happy Ever After’s! With the technology we have today, anybody can have a baby! *Hint* *Hint* LOL!!! I’ve just started Taboo Tree, and it is really good. I could read faster if it was in ebook format…..then I could read in the bed and other places too unsuspected!!!! :-D!

Leave a Reply

