Taboo Tree- What Is It?

      Okay so where do I begin? Let’s start with the title. Take the title at face value. This will not be an easy book to read. When I say that, I don’t mean to imply that the plot will be terribly complex or that there will be fifteen-syllable words that you’ll need a dictionary to figure out.

The Gwaltneys and the Augustines are two families that have feuded for years. These people have disagreed and fought over almost everything imaginable but nothing will prepare them for what’s to come. You see, these families share a history that involves more than squabbles over money and property rights. They share a history that involves blood- blood shed and blood shared.

It is a history that entwines their family trees.

Why did I write this story? Imagine that you’ve met the man or woman of your dreams only to discover that you’re related? Now imagine that you’ve taken your budding relationship to a point of no return unaware that your bloodlines intersect? No this has not happened to me, but is this complex enough for you yet? I wanted to use this week’s blog as a forum to introduce the foundation of the story as well as my motivation for writing it.

Taboo Tree has been finished for about three years. During that time, I’ve only gone back to make minute changes to it. The idea for the story actually came eight years prior-waking me from my sleep. I was pregnant with my son at the time. Could this idea have been the result of one of the many weird dreams I had during my pregnancy? Whatever the case, this was an issue I’ve often wondered about so perhaps subconsciously the premise was already planted.

I woke that night and immediately began to scribble notes about these families and the drama and tragedy soon to befall them. One pre-cursor to my idea involved my constant amazement at how easily the seeds of life are shared, spread far and wide among so many. Tragically, many kids grow up never knowing who their biological parents (fathers) are. More tragically, they grow up never knowing whether they have siblings.

So, in my weird, author way I decided to express my concern for this and the potential issues it could stir by crafting Taboo Tree. I do hope it will rouse discussion. Discussion about the story-yes. More importantly, I hope it will rouse discussions that we should be having with our kids- our sons. They are growing into men. Here’s hoping they will be men of conscience and responsibility.

The book’s official print release is in October. It will release electronically mid-October. I am making the book available for pre-release in September. Visit the publisher’s store to find out more:

https://www.createspace.com/3928277

I hope you’ll enjoy the story should you choose to read it. It is my intention to bring you entertainment and a lot to think about.

Al

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Velva Seay says:

    You know me on faceebook as Josie Scott. This sounds like some of the thoughts I’d always thought about because my Dad has a lot of kids by different women. I didn’t find out about them until I was 12. But there are rumors there are more but he denies any more. My Dad is a wonderful Dad but you know it makes you wonder. I went to school with some of them and had no idea, I even had a big crush on one of my brothers. So I can’t wait to read this book.

    1. altonyasblog says:

      Hi Velva,

      Thank you so much for your post. This is the very reason that I wanted to use this week’s blog as a forum to explain my motivation for this story. I had hoped that I wouldn’t be alone in my curiosity about this subject matter and I really hope it will stimulate some useful discussion. 🙂

  2. Octavie says:

    You are so right about that Altonya, couple of years ago one of my cousin was told she couldn’t get married to her fiance because the man was her cousin uhm..I am really curious and excited about this new saga.

  3. Thank you Octavie- It’s definitely uneasy subject matter, but I’m hoping that it will really stimulate some interesting discussions. I look forward to the feedback 😉

  4. Nancy says:

    This is an interesting premise and one that is not so far fetched in these times. From reading the preview, I can’t wait to read the entire story. I am sure it will be as thought provoking and captivating as your other books. Keep them coming.

    1. Hi Nancy! Thanks so much for your comments. I do hope the book will rouse lots of discussion and that my readers will truly enjoy it. 🙂

  5. darlene mitchell says:

    Hey Altonya! I’ve been out of pocket for the past month with no Internet due to switching services and the new company taking out all of my services. 😮 Anywho, I am so looking forward to reading this book, as I will place my order in the morning! Knowing you for the awesome author you are, I am sure it is off the hook! Sent you an email to check on you and the family. As always, you touch on those subjects that others dare not to, and you make them interesting, thought provoking, and most of all, entertaining!!! Will talk to you soon. Darlene
    P.S. I LOVE THE NEW WEBSITE!!!!!

    1. altonyasblog says:

      Hi Darlene!!!

      Saw your email yesterday and just didn’t have the chance to get you a response. Look for one in your inbox soon. Life happens as we all know- hope all is well and glad to have you back among us 😉 I really hope that my readers will enjoy this very different effort. I look forward to the discussions and points of view it will raise. I was very intrigued by yesterday’s Strawberry Letter on Steve Harvey’s morning show. Ran very parallel to the subject matter of the story. Toodles & Blessings, Al 🙂

  6. Kathy Hardy jones says:

    Hi Altonya, hmmm another Book of Scandals? Looks to be very interesting, I do Genealogy and we have families that are disconnected I know this has happened. I look forward to reading it.

    1. altonyasblog says:

      Hey Kathy- similar to Book of Scandal but the story line is vastly different. I find it such a fascinating situation- While it’s a fictitious story, I think it’d be very interesting to find out how folks handle this. Hope you’ll enjoy it 😉

Leave a Reply

