Dream Realized

Okay so lately I’ve been toying with the idea of writing fulltime. Actually, I probably shouldn’t use the word ‘lately’. I’ve wanted to be a fulltime writer ever since I put pen to paper and crafted my first short story. Lately though, another concern has aggravated me as I blessedly come closer to living my dream. What happens once that dream is fully realized? Specifically, will the need, the craving, the obsession for writing be as potent for me once I’m free to do it all day without having to simply make time for it during breaks and lunch hours?

Writing is more than my ‘hobby’. It’s such a part of who I am that I start to feel edgy if I go too long without putting some words down. Still, I wonder how much of that feeling is related to my passion for writing and how much is related to my ’cause’ for writing. For so long, my love for writing has been my ‘reason’ for working. Working allows me to support myself and my family which provides that needed security, while I lose myself in the creation of my characters and storylines. As I told the Round Table Readers Group of Danville, VA when I met with them last month; I’m so used to having a full plate, I don’t know how well I’d function with less… Additionally, as writing has been my passion for so long, librarianship is fast-moving up the ranks as yet another passion. I’m not feeling the desire to completely walk away from it but to rather find a way to incorporate my two loves. I suppose I won’t know the outcome of whichever choice I make until I make it. But that, my friends is a topic for another blog…

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Louise says:

    Hi Altonya
    Well if you want to know what I was saying as I reading your post, I was saying FULL TIME, FULL TIME but that just me thinking of myself…HA HA HA

    Have you consider working part time. I think whatever you decide make sure you are happy with the decision we as your reader will follow you. We all know working pays the bill so whatever you go we go.

    Take care

    1. altonyasblog says:

      Well having a child does make one think before following all those dreams, so there’s that. But it’s like I said in the blog, I never counted on librarianship becoming such an enjoyable career. I really do love it. So that makes the decision more difficult…

  2. Nancy says:

    While I would love to have you write full time, I realize that you also have to consider your family. I say pray about it and allow the Lord to guide you in whatever decision you make.

    1. altonyasblog says:

      Hi Nancy!

      Thanks so much for the comment. Having such support from my readers is a blessing as well as a motivator. You are so right, I’ve been being mindful of ‘letting go and letting God’ 🙂

  3. Nicole says:

    Follow what’s in your heart! We would love for you to write full time, but you do have other things to consider. God will show you the way!

    1. altonyasblog says:

      Hi Nicole,

      Thanks so much. God is so good. I know that to follow His advice will be making the right move!

  4. Beverly says:

    I can understand how difficult the choice is. You are very accomplished and I know that you will make the best decision for you and your family.

    1. altonyasblog says:

      Thanks Beverly, I feel very blessed to have so many great opportunities- it’s take a long time to reach this point. 😉

  5. Shantal Y. says:

    Interesting…I see I have a lot in common with your other readers… Al, writing full-time? YEAH! YEAH However, supporting a family is another reason to continue the balance of the two careers. I agree that continuing to pray and consider your options while still finding time to write (shameless I know! LOL!) will lead you to the right decision at the right time. Perhaps when the little guy is a bit older….I’ll cheer you on either way! Besides, who knows what the future will bring…

    1. altonyasblog says:

      Hey Shantal,
      This is why I’m perfectly fine where I am. My dreams can definitely sit on the back burner until my man is of age. Kids are not cheap!!! I only have one and I often wonder how I’d ever make it with more than one. And not just in the financial sense, time is the biggest issue. When you guys wonder why it takes so long to get that next Ramsey or T. Onyx title…HE’s the reason. The one thing I don’t want is for him to become resentful of the career that’s helping to support him…but that’s a topic for another blog. Thanks so very much for your support!!! Al 🙂

  6. Justine says:

    Full time or part time…. I just hope you keep writing because you’re great at it. My friends joke that I should write but I don’t know…. I work full time and go to school, when will ever have time!!!

    1. altonyasblog says:

      Go for it Justine! My friends are the ones who first encouraged me to work toward going after a writing career. Trust me, if I can make time you can- start off slow, see if it’s something you just can’t live without doing and then move forward! 😉

Leave a Reply

